Günter Schickert – Labyrinth LP


Artist : Günter Schickert
Title : Labyrinth
Label : Marmo Music
Catalog nr : marmoLP01
Formats : LP incl. download card / DL
Release Date : 01.06.2018

Buy at Marmo Bandcamp
Distribution : order@morrmusic.com

A1. Morning – 4:02
A2. Sieben – 6:23
A3. Ninja Schwert – 3:10
A4. HaHeHiHo – 3:29
B1. Tsunami – 6:08
B2. Oase – 4:53
B3. Checkin` – 2:59
B4. Palaver – 1:54
B5. Morning (Slide) – 2:29

Günter Schickert, four decades of multiinstrumental cosmic explorations, under Berlin`s sky, above genres, and compromises.

Labyrinth is his first solo album to be released on vinyl format since 1983`s Kinder In Der Wildnis. It is a record that stands for versatility, where genres do not matter, soundscapes or life situations take over, song-writing emotions pop out, handing out a spectrum of surprises to the listener. You may find yourself flying low along steep cliffs and with a blink of eye you are thrown into a Middle Eastern scenery.

The album is divided into two parts, two different production bulks and periods of Günther Schickert’s life.
Side A features a selection of tracks recorded in 1996, appearing on the 2012 album HaHeHiHo, released via Pittsburgh based VCO Recordings, on a limited press of 100 units, tape format only. We felt that the visionary and emotional richness of these pieces deserved the vinyl format and a chance to reach to a wider audience.
The Raga-inspired “Morning” opens Labyrinth with exotic charm and bitter-sweet nostalgia. “Sieben” kicks off with the same guitar scales of the previous theme, before the motorised progressions of a Korg MS-20 synth surprisingly storm in, carrying along an intersecting multitude of filters and sharp guitar effects, flowing into an epic, paradisiac ending. “Ninja Schwert” remains on astral dimensions, it is a struggle of cosmic forces, where the steady ride of a pounding beat gets embraced by different guitar layers and analogue electronic filtering. The side closes up with “HaHeHiHo”, a slow ballad featuring Mr. Schickert on vocals, guitar, bass guitar and drum machine – an example of simple, stripped down yet gifted songwriting that is capable to reach the heart of the listener.

Side B contains material produced between 2007 and today. The intricate, bewildering “Tsunami” shows the multiinstrumental and recording abilities of Günter Schickert: a field-recorded storm with mesmerising powers, a peculiar progressive approach to guitar playing. Mysterious sinister spirits and sounds are emerging and the feeling of being lost in a pleasant trance arises. In contrast, “Oase” muffles the intensity and jumps into a completely different soundscape, where in liaison with the sounds of a rolling drum tom and a desert-like trumpet, the microphone carefully captures the found sound tones of everyday-life objects and actions. Like “HaHeHiHo“ on side A, “Checking” represents the vocal gem of the B side, in a raw and direct way of songwriting like if Syd Barrett was his invisible helper. “Palaver” (which means “unnecessarily talk” in German) assembles different vocal recordings of Schickert into a bizarre free-style conversation through a mysterious language, where he attempts to emulate illiterate children conversating. The final track, “Morning (Slide)”, reprises the opening theme, this time solely performed through the caressing dilated sounds of Günter`s slide guitar.